Alyn Cosker, born and raised in Ayr, is a highly established drummer, musician and recording artist.
After graduating with a BA (Hons) degree in applied music at Glasgows Strathclyde University, he became a regular feature in the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra in 2004. Through the SNJO, and following his own solo music career, Alyn has worked alongside many professional artists throughout the world. Some of these include Tommy Smith, Jim Mullen, Courtney Pine,Larry Carlton, Bheki Mseleku, Annie Ross, Frank Gambale, Clare Teal, Brian Kellock,Joe Locke, Laurence Cottle, Mark Nightingale,Joe Lovano, John Scofield, David Liebman, Gary Burton, Geoffrey Keezer, Arild Andersen, Makoto Ozone, Randy Brecker, Branford Marsalis, Bob Mintzer, Benny Golson, Mike Stern, Bobby Wellins and saxophonist Bill Evans.
As well as being heavily involved in the Jazz scene, Alyn’s love for music and musical diversity has taken him all over the world with a variety of different artists. From performing with the SNJO in New York, to working with Eddi Reader in Osaka (Japan), Alyn has become one of the UK’s most versatile drummers. Through his passion for music of all genres, he has also had the pleasure of creating music with some of the following well-known artists – Capercaille, Michael Mcgoldrick, Karen Matheson, Wolfstone, Eddi Reader, Maeve Mackinnon, Duncan Lyall, Angus Lyon, Hue And Cry and many more. 
In 2009, Alyn released his first solo album ‘Lyn’s Une’ for Linn Records with Ross Hamilton (Bass) and David Dunsmuir (Guitar) plus special guests. Following the albums great success and Alyn’s solo career developing, he is to release his new album this year with musicians Steve Hamilton (Piano), Colin Cunningham (Bass) and David Dunsmuir (Guitar) with various other outstanding world renowned musicians. 

Selected discography –

Scottish National Jazz Orchestra


  • Beauty and the Beast featuring Bill Evans
  • Jeunehomme featuring Makoto Ozone.
  • Culloden Moor Suite.
  • American Adventure.
  • In the Spirit of Duke.
  • Celebration featuring Arild Andersen.
  • Torah featuring Tommy Smith.
  • Rhapsody In Blue featuring Brian Kellock.
Carol Kidd – Dreamsville
Duncan Lyall – Infinite Reflections.
Angus Lyon – 3G
Rowan Ross – Second Fiddle.
Maeve Mackinnon – Stiri.
Bryan Byrne – Goldenhair
Wingin’ It – For the Many
Colin Steele – Diving for Pearls.
Tommy Smith – Forbidden Fruit.
Tommy Smith – Karma.
Paul Towndrow – Newology
Paul Towndrow – Six By Six
Paul Towndrow – Colours
Paul Towndrow – Out Of Town
Ryan Quigley – Laphroaigian Slip.
Hue and Cry – Pocketful of Stones.
Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan – Ballad of the Broken Seas
Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan – Sunday at Devil Dirt
Karen Matheson – Urram
Michael Mcgoldrick – Arc
Fraser Fifield – Stereocanto
Kevin Mackenzie – Chiasmus
Wolfstone – Almost an Island
Wolfstone – Terra Firma.
Euan Burton – Too Much Love.
Emily Smith – Too Far Away
Kurt Elling – Passion World
The Unusual Suspects – Big Like This
New Focus – New Focus
New Focus – On Song
Maggie Reilly – Looking Back, Moving Forward.